Water race election results

Four Carterton water race users have been re-elected to their positions on the Council’s Water Race Committee.

Votes takes place every three years, and the latest election closed on Monday August 30 for the positions.

John McFadzean will represent Carrington Water Race, and Neil Wadham, David Ellison, and Jill Eastham will represent Taratahi Water Race users.

Councillor Brian Deller chairs the committee.

Councillors Robyn Cherry-Campbell, and Jill Greathead, and Mayor Greg Lang are also members.

Mayor Lang congratulated the candidates on their re-election.  “Thanks for putting yourselves up for election and great to have you back on board.  I’m looking forward to working with you all again to collectively achieve the best outcomes for the water races and users.”

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday September 15.

Nearly 500 voting papers were sent out to water race ratepayers.
We received 152 papers back, with a total of 535 votes (some papers voted for less than 4 candidates).

Vote count was:
McFadzean, John Douglas    127
Wadham, Neil 106
Ellison, David John 89
Eastham, Jill 82
Hewison, Michael 58
Stolte, Clarence 49
Grasenack, Thomas 12
Whitmarch, Adam 12