Swimming Pool

Last updated: 16 Nov, 2022 10:21am

About Our Pools

Opening Hours

About Our Pools

Carterton’s outdoor swimming pool complex comprises of three pools: the main pool, the learner’s pool, and the toddler’s pool.

The variety of pool sizes and depths, and the addition of newly installed sun shade sails, makes the complex an ideal location for family outings.

The outdoor baths were officially opened in October 1911 and were built on an existing quarry pit.

The main pool was 50 yards long and 25 yards wide making it the largest outdoor pool in New Zealand at the time.

It is also one of the few pools in the country that provides free admission.

Opening Hours

 

Summer 2022-2023

Saturday 26 November to Saturday 24 December

  • Monday to Friday 2pm – 6pm
  • Saturday to Sunday 10am – 6pm

Tuesday 27 December – Thursday 2 February

  • Every Day 10am – 6pm

Friday 3 February – Sunday 5 March

  • Monday – Friday 2pm – 6pm
  • Saturday and Sunday 10am – 6pm

Public Holidays

  • Sunday 25 December Closed 
  • Boxing Day [Monday 26 December] 12pm – 6pm
  • New Year’s Day [Saturday 1 January] 12pm – 6pm
  • Wellington Anniversary [Monday 23 January] 10am – 6pm
  • Waitangi Day [Monday 6 February] 10am – 6pm