Nominations are invited for community representatives to be elected on to the Carterton District Council Water Race Committee.
Nominations open Wednesday 3 July 2024 and close Sunday 4 August 2024.


The Committee comprises of 4 community representatives and 3 Council elected representatives plus the Mayor. The Committee oversees the management of the Carrington and Taratahi water races and makes recommendations to Council as required. Meetings are held four times a year on a Wednesday. The term of office is from 1 October 2024 to 30 June 2027.


Carterton District Council residents who are either a Water Race ratepayer and/or user of the Carterton Water Race System are eligible to be nominated for election. Those who put forward a nomination must be a water race ratepayer registered on the Council rating database as paying water race charges.

The successful candidates need to consist of at least one person from the Taratahi Water Race and one from the Carrington Water Race. In the event that all four successful candidates are from one water race system (e.g. Taratahi) the three highest polling candidates will be elected and the highest polling candidate from the other system (e.g. Carrington) will also be elected.

Nominations must be in the hands of the Electoral Officer of the Carterton District Council, Holloway Street, P.O. Box 9, Carterton, no later than midnight, Sunday 4 August 2024.

Further Information


Democratic Services Officer, Carterton District Council, or call 06 379 4030.