Wairarapa Combined District Plan Joint Committee

Last updated: 28 Jun, 2023 07:12pm

Terms of Reference

Combined District Plan Review

The draft Wairarapa Combined District Plan review is open for public submissions. Visit wairarapaplan.nz for more information.

To exercise the functions, duties and powers of the Carterton, Masterton and South Wairarapa District Councils under the First Schedule to the Resource Management Act 1991.

The Committee will act as the governance advisory through the review period of the District Plan project and in preparing a new plan and act as the hearings panel for the submissions to the formal notification process.

The scope of the review includes:

  • Giving effect to new or revised national policy statements and the revised Wellington Regional Policy Statement.
  • Aligning the Plan with recent national environmental standards.
  • Giving effect to the proposed national planning standards making any adjustments needed to the structure, definitions and zoning appellations.
  • Giving effect to the proposed national planning standards to make the plan align with requirements for electronic plans and address any consequential amendments
  • Rezoning areas to accommodate growth pressures and/or modify existing zones and standards to enable growth and conversely, if needed, to tighten up protection of resources of important values.
  • Aligning the Plan with recent council strategies.
  • Revising objectives and policies in response to any issues arising from their implementation or to respond to any statutory amendments (for example, the two new section
    6 matters of national importance since 2009).
  • Revising any rules and supporting requirements in response to any implementation issues since 2009.

Membership of the Joint Committee includes:

  • 2 members from each of the 3 councils appointed by each Council (with the ability for each council to appoint an alternate member to cover absences);
  • 2 Iwi representatives (1 member representing Rangitāne o Wairarapa and 1 member representing Kahungunu ki Wairarapa) appointed by the four iwi entities (Kahungunu
    ki Wairarapa, Kahungunu ki Wairarapa Tāmaki Nui ā Rua Trust, Rangitāne o Wairarapa, and Rangitāne Tū Mai Rā Trust) and;
  • an appropriately qualified Commissioner as an independent Chair appointed by the Joint Committee.

The Joint Committee will appoint one of its members as the Deputy Chair.

The Mayor of each Council is also a member of the joint committee as afforded by Section 41A of the Local Government Act 2002.

The quorum of the Joint Committee will be five members and include at least one member of each territorial authority but does not include
the Mayors (unless appointed as 1 of the 2 council appointed members or alternate member).

The Joint Committee will determine the frequency of its meetings which are likely to change to suit the course of the review.