Your Mayor and Councillors

Last updated: 17 Aug, 2022 11:39am

Get to know your elected members!

Find out a bit about them, their appointments, and how to get in touch!

  • Governance Statement: Information about the functions, powers, and key processes of a Council.  Download/View
  • Standing Orders for Council and Committees for the 2019-22 Triennium.  Download/View
  • Elected Members Code of Conduct: The Code sets out the standards of behaviour expected from elected members in the exercise of their duties Download/View

Elected Representative Profiles


Greg Lang, Mayor

Greg Lang CDC

027 898

More about Greg

Rebecca Vergunst, Deputy Mayor
Robyn Cherry-Campbell, Councillor

Greg Lang CDC

021 155 6821

More about Robyn

Steve Cretney, Councillor

Greg Lang CDC
021 796 401
More about Steve

Brian Deller, Councillor

Greg Lang CDC
027 444 5340
More about Brian

Jill Greathead, Councillor

Greg Lang CDC
027 488 4376
More about Jill

Russell Keys, Councillor

Greg Lang CDC
027 454 0860
More about Russell

Dale Williams, ONZM JP (Accredited) NZTCMCE fMTA, Councillor

Councillor Portfolios

Sports and Recreation

Councillor Cretney (leader), Deputy Mayor Vergunst (deputy)

Climate Change and Environment

Councillor Greathead (leader), Councillor Cretney (deputy)

Community Development

Deputy Mayor Vergunst

Economic Development

Mayor Lang (leader), Councillor Cherry-Campbell (deputy)

Community Engagement

Councillor Greathead (leader), Councillor Cretney (deputy)


Councillor Deller (leader), Councillor Williams (deputy)


Councillor Cherry-Campbell (leader), Councillor Williams (deputy)

Committee Membership

Audit and Risk Committee

P Jones (Chair), Councillor Cherry-Campbell (Deputy Chair), Mayor Lang, Deputy Mayor Vergunst, Councillor Williams, Marae Representative Marty Sebire

Policy and Projects Committee

Deputy Mayor Vergunst, Councillor Deller (Co-Chairs), all other Elected Members, Hurunui-o-rangi Marae Representative Ra Smith

Hearings Committee

Councillors Greathead (Chair), Deller (Deputy Chair), Cherry-Campbell

Water Race Committee

Councillors Deller (Chair), Cherry-Campbell, Greathead

Rural Travel Fund Committee

Councillors Cretney (Chair), Deller, Keys, Williams

Community Grants Committee

Councillors Cherry-Campbell (Chair), Deputy Mayor Vergunst (Deputy Chair), Greathead, Williams

Advisory Group Membership

Arts, Culture, Heritage, and Place Making Advisory Group

Deputy Mayor Vergunst, Councillors Cherry-Campbell,  Cretney, Deller, Greathead, Mayor Lang

Walking and Cycling Advisory Group

Councillors Cherry-Campbell (Chair) Deputy Mayor Vergunst (Deputy Chair), Keys