Council Committees and Working Groups

Committees are used for specific topics where detailed consideration is required. The following committees were established at the beginning of the 2019-2022 term:

To view The Committee Terms of Reference please click here

CDC Members, Chair and Portfolio Leader’s.



Audit and Risk Committee

P Jones (Chair) Councillors Cherry-Campbell (Deputy Chair), Bertram, Deputy Mayor Vergunst, Mayor Lang

Marae Representatives C Kawana, M Sebire (alternate)

Infrastructure and Services Committee

Councillors Keys (Chair), Deller (Deputy Chair), Cretney, Stockley, Marae Representative R Smith

Policy and Strategy Committee

Deputy Mayor Vergunst (Chair), Councillor Bertram (Deputy Chair), all other Elected Members, Marae Representatives Rīhi Reiri

Hearings Committee

Councillors Greathead (Chair), Deller (Deputy Chair), Cherry-Campbell

Water Race Committee

Councillors Deller (Chair), Cherry-Campbell, Greathead

Rural Travel Fund Committee

Councillors Cretney (Chair), Bertram (Deputy Chair), Deller, Keys

Community Grants Committee

Councillors Cherry-Campbell (Chair), Deputy Mayor Vergunst (Deputy Chair), Greathead

Advisory Group


Economic Development Advisory Group

Mayor Lang (Chair), Councillors Cherry-Campbell (Deputy Chair), Bertram

Place Making Advisory Group

Deputy Mayor Vergunst (Chair), Councillors Greathead (Deputy Chair), Cretney, Stockley

Walking and Cycling Advisory Group

Councillors Stockley (Chair) Deputy Mayor Vergunst (Deputy Chair), Keys

Arts, Culture and Heritage Advisory Group

Councillors Bertram (Chair), Cretney (Deputy Chair), Cherry-Campbell, Marae Representative F Reiri-Smith and R Smith.




Portfolio Leader and Deputy

Sports and recreation

Councillor Cretney (leader)

Deputy Mayor Vergunst (deputy)

Climate change and environment

Councillor Greathead (leader)

Councillor Cretney (deputy)

Community development

Councillor Stockley (leader)

Deputy Mayor Vergunst (deputy)

Economic development

Mayor Lang (leader)

Councillor Cherry-Campbell (deputy)

Community engagement

Councillor Greathead (leader)

Councillor Stockley (deputy)


Councillor Bertram (leader)

Councillor Deller (deputy)


Councillor Cherry-Campbell (leader)

Councillor Bertram (deputy)


Joint Standing Committees

Wairarapa Planning Committee
: The Carterton District Council in conjunction with the Masterton District Council and South Wairarapa District Council have established the Wairarapa Planning Committee. The purpose of the Committee is to promulgate a District Plan to cover the three regions. The Committee comprises two members from each authority plus supporting Council Officers.

Wairarapa Library Service: Is made up of elected members from the Carterton and South Wairarapa District Councils and a representative of Hurunui-o-Rangi Marae. The purpose of the Committee is to set policy for the direction of the Libraries in the two districts.

Rural Travel Fund Committee: The responsibility of the Rural Travel Fund Committee is to administer funds received from SPARC for travel costs associated with club sport in the district.

Water Race Committee: The Committee is made up of elected members of the Carterton District Council and community representative elected by water race users. The purpose of the Committee is to manage the district’s water race system.

Civil Defence and Emergency Management Group Joint Committee: Comprises the Mayors of the Wellington Region and Chairperson of Greater Wellington Council.  The purpose of the Committee is to provide governance and strategic direction to the Wellington Regional Civil Defence and Emergency Management Group.