The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2022.

Carterton District Council

(First Past the Post electoral system)
  • Election of the Mayor.
  • Election of eight Councillors at large.
  • Election of six members for the Masterton Community Trust.

Candidate names will be listed in fully random order for Carterton District Council on the voting papers. Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order if an election is required for the Masterton Community Trust on the voting papers.



Nominations for the listed positions open on Friday 15 July 2022 and must be made on the appropriate nomination form for each position. Nomination forms and a candidate information handbook can be found either on the Carterton District Council website, or by request to the electoral officer via the contact options listed below. Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than 12 noon on Friday 12 August 2022. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash or online banking.

See the Candidate Handbook for requirements.

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and colour photograph with their nomination, for sending out with voting documents to electors. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate handbook which is available with the nomination forms. All nomination documents must be lodged together.


Electoral Rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls for these elections can be inspected at the following locations during office hours from Friday 15 July 2022 to Friday 12 August 2022.

  • Carterton District Council office, 28 Holloway Street, Carterton
  • Carterton Library, 50 Holloway Street, Carterton

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by contacting the Electoral Commission:

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm, Friday 12 August 2022.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the Carterton District Council electoral officer before 5pm, Friday 12 August 2022.

Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made through the non-resident ratepayer portal:


Warwick Lampp

Electoral Officer, Carterton District Council, 28 Holloway Street, Carterton