The Charles Rooking Carter Community Awards was created by the Carterton District Council in 1994 to publicly acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding volunteer work, business innovation and achievements of members in the community.

For the upcoming 2018 awards, the community has nominated over 30 nominees within the Carterton District, something  Mayor John Booth is very proud about.

“As with last year, it is a fantastic feat for our small district to be filled with such inspiring, hard working people. We certainly punch well above our weight, and this is something to celebrate.”

From the nominees 20 Finalists have been selected across the six categories. The finalists 2018 finalists are:

Carterton Lions Voluntary Community Services Award
Lucy Adlam
Keep Carterton Beautiful Group
Boomerang Bags
Engelina Hudepohl

Gain Momentum Achievers Award
St Mary’s School Cricket Team
Resilient Carterton
Dane Lett

MoreFM Boosting Business Award
Balter Bar and Kitchen
Juliet Johnston – Sparky Can Do
Three Mile Bush Building
The Clareville Bakery

Allflex Young Leader Award
Juliet Tipler- Clemett
Thomas Laybourn
Hayden Tankersely

Carterton New World Courage and Commitment Award
Mike Wakefield
Shona Daubé

Carterton District Council Charles Rooking Carter Award
Gordon Knutson
Carol Buchanan
Barbara Durbin
Helen Dew

“The calibre of finalists is fantastic, and I am sure the community, like me will be looking forward to attending the awards evening.”

The awards evening will be held at the Carterton Events Centre on Friday 15th June, doors open from 6.15pm. Tickets, $30 are limited to 240 and will go on sale to the public via Eventfinda on Monday 21 May.