Select Page

Civic Ceremonies

Charles Rooking Carter Awards – Celebrating Carterton’s Coolest People!

The Charles Rooking Carter Community Awards was created by the Carterton District Council in 1994 to publicly acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding volunteer work, business innovation and achievements of members in the community.

The Awards are named after Charles Rooking Carter who was a strong advocate for Wairarapa settlers and was instrumental in developing many public services in Carterton including the library, an astronomical observatory, cemetery, post office, court-house and police station. His most notable gifts to the town were the Carter Home for aged men, now known as Carter Court, and the Carter Reserve, an area of native bushland.

To date, over 130 Charles Rooking Carter Community awards have been given to people who generously provide time, passion and commitment to making Carterton a caring and thriving place to live.


There are 6 Award Categories:

EnZed PC Services – Voluntary Community Services Award

This award is open to any person or organisation who has carried out meritorius voluntary community service.  Deserving voluntary services can fall into one or more of the following areas: social & community, services to sport and recreation, arts and cultural.

Allflex – Achievers Award

For an individual or organisaiton who have excelled in the sporting, cultural or academic field.

More FM – Boosting Business Award

To recognise an individual or business/organisation that leads the Carterton community showing growth, innovation, sustainability and creativity, and who encourages and celebrates business excellence.

Gain Momentum – Young Leader Award

To recognise a young person (under 25 years) who has demonstrated outstanding leadership.

Carterton New World – Courage and Commitment Award

To recognise the courage and commitment of an individual or organisation eg. fire service, Search and Rescue (SAR) or a local citizen that has faced a significant personal challenge.

Carterton District Council – Charles Rooking Carter Civic Award

This elite award recognises an individual for their outstanding and innovative service to others in the community over a significant period of time.


Nomination forms are easy to complete by:

Nominations for 2017 Charles Rooking Carter Awards will close on 28th April.  The Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday 10th June.


Citizenship Ceremonies

Citizenship ceremonies are held by the Carterton District Council on behalf of the Department of Internal Affairs to welcome new citizens to New Zealand and confirm their citizenship.

The ceremonies are held at the Carterton Events Centre and officiated by Mayor John Booth.  Candidates’ family and friends are invited to share in the memorable experience and witness the candidates’ public declaration of their commitment to New Zealand.

For further information, including details of fees, or to get an application form please contact:

New Zealand Citizenship Office
Freephone: 0800 22 51 51 (New Zealand only)
Phone: (+64 4) 463 9361 (from outside New Zealand)

To contact someone at Council to discuss further – contact Gerry Brooking, Community Development Coordinator, on 06 379 4030 or